German Bundesliga

Twists and turns but Bayern win again - Bundesliga in 2018/19

10:00am on Thursday 16th April 2020
Martin Macdonald

For a while it looked like we might get a different winner of the German Bundesliga, with Lucian Favre’s vibrant Borussia Dortmund side regularly exchanging the top spot with Bayern Munich. In the end, the Bavarians’ experience would shine through as they claimed the championship in the final fixture of the season. Down at the other end of the table, it was despair for Nurnberg, Hannover, and Stuttgart, who all suffered relegation, with Die Roten losing the relegation play-off against Union Berlin, who secured promotion to the Bundesliga for the first time.


Three of the top four teams in Germany had a coaching change in the summer of 2018, with Favre coming in at Dortmund, Niko Kovac leaving Eintracht Frankfurt for Bayern, and Ralph Rangnick taking charge at RB Leipzig. Bayern did not excite in the transfer market, with only Alphonso Davies brought in for a fee, although Leon Goretzka did arrive for free from Schalke. Dortmund signed the likes of Abdou Diallo, Thomas Delaney, Axel Witsel, and Paco Alcacer, on loan from Barcelona. Any spending was offset by the money received for Christian Pulisic, who would join Chelsea the following summer. Down the table, Leverkusen and Gladbach spent a large chunk of their budgets on Paulinho and Alassane Plea respectively. Fortuna Dusseldorf and Nurnberg joined the league from the 2. Bundesliga.


In 2018-19 the German fans were treated to a title race, as Dortmund took advantage of Kovac’s slow start at Bayern to set the early pace, scoring bags of goals in the process.

Dortmund won 12 out of their opening 15 games in a run which saw then defeat RB Leipzig 4-0, Nurnberg 7-0, and Leverkusen 4-2. But it was their 3-2 victory over Bayern in November which made everyone consider them true challengers again. BVB would gain the upper hand in this fixture as a Marco Reus double and a winner from Paco Alcacer sealed the victory at the Westfalenstadion.

Crucially for Dortmund, Reus enjoyed one of his best spells of fitness and form with the club, and his talents were complemented by goal-machine Alcacer as well as the emerging Jadon Sancho, who put himself on the map with a series of glittering performances.

Bayern initially struggled to adapt to the teachings of Kovac before going on a blistering run in 2019. The Bavarians dropped points in six matches in the first half of the season, but managed to keep within touching distance of Dortmund largely due to the vital goals of Robert Lewandowski.

At the start of March, Bayern defeated Wolfsburg 6-0 to go top of the league, and the Pole’s two goals in that fixture made him the top foreign goalscorer in Bundesliga history.

As Bayern were flying, Dortmund started to toil. In the April 2019 edition of Der Klassiker, Bayern earned revenge for their previous defeat to BVB in style, as they blew away Favre’s men with a 5-0 romping victory, with Mats Hummels, Serge Gnabry, and Javi Martinez getting among the goals alongside, again, Lewandowski.

It was our best game of the season, our signal of intent to Dortmund, the Bundesliga and ourselves. From that moment it was clear: the title's only coming back to us, to Bayern Munich!Niko Kovac

The momentum was with the champions heading into the final day, and with their fate in their own hands, they secured the title. It was in fitting fashion, too, as both Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery, who had previously announced their departures in the summer, got goals in a 5-1 win over Frankfurt.

Just below Bayern and Dortmund, RB Leipzig and Leverkusen put in solid seasons to earn the last two Champions League positions.

Frankfurt impressed as they reached the Europa League semi-final, with Luka Jovic’s Bundesliga goals earning him a move to Real Madrid.


While his team-mates took a while to get going, the Pole was still scoring vital goals, and in the season he became the most prolific foreigner in league history.



Style, but also substance from Favre. Dortmund may have lost their way at times, but were easily the best team to watch in the Bundesliga.






FRANCK RIBERY leaves the Bundesliga in style as he picks up the ball on the left wing and takes on the Frankfurt defence with an incisive dribble before cheekily flicking over the oncoming keeper.



Mainz to Dortmund



Franck Ribery and Arjen Robben both scoring signature goals to win the title for Bayern before moving on to pastures new.

Latest news


Neymar will not face suspension for racism allegation

The Brazilian and his Marseille counterpart, Alvaro Gonzalez, both faced unproven verdicts and will not be handed further punishment

  • 6 hours
La Liga

Hazard faces another month on the sidelines through injury

The Belgian had only recently returning from a spell on the sidelines but will now miss the next four weeks of action

  • 12 hours
La Liga

Koeman responds to Dembele exit rumours

The former Dortmund winger has been linked with a move away from the Camp Nou before the transfer window closes

  • 14 hours

FIFA to go to war with clubs as players will be ordered to report for international duty

The coronavirus crisis presents a significant concern for players travelling around the world, particularly to South America

  • 16 hours
Premier League

Official: Ross Barkley joins Aston Villa on loan from Chelsea

The England midfielder has slipped down the pecking order at Stamford Bridge after a raft of new signings

  • 16 hours
Premier League

Mourinho reveals advice given to Lampard after Chelsea loss

The Englishman remains close with the Tottenham manager, having previously played under him at Stamford Bridge

  • 17 hours

Most read

Other interesting players

  1. Bayern 99
  2. image description Serge Gnabry AM (RL)
    Bayern 98
  3. image description Joshua Kimmich DM (C), D (R)
    Bayern 97
  4. Bayern 92
  5. Leverkusen 90
  6. RB Leipzig 88
  7. image description Jadon Sancho AM (RL)
    Dortmund 88
  8. image description Alphonso Davies D, AM (L)
    Bayern 88
  9. image description David Alaba D (CL)
    Bayern 88
  10. Hoffenheim 87