Premier League

Jordan Henderson named Football Writers' Player of the Year

The Liverpool captain led the club to their first ever Premier League title and their first top-flight title for 30 years

10:55am on Friday 24th July 2020
Martin Macdonald

Jordan Henderson has been named as the Premier League Player of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The Liverpool captain has been in supreme form for Jurgen Klopp’s side this season, helping them to a comfortable Premier League title win - their first ever since the league was reconstructed.

He faced stiff competition from three team-mates - Virgil van Dijk, Trent Alexander-Arnold, and Sadio Mane - as well as Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne, who many believed was a front runner for the award alongside Henderson.

The overall top five is Henderson, De Bruyne, Marcus Rashford, Van Dijk, and Sadio Mane.

As well as that top five, 10 other players received votes; Alexander-Arnold, Alisson, Raheem Sterling, Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Sergio Aguero, Adama Traore, Danny Ings, Jack Grealish, James Maddison and Jonny Evans.

Henderson was naturally elated at his achievement, but stressed the importance of the contributions of his team-mates to Liverpool’s season.

"I'd like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers' Association in general,” the Englishman said on his win.

"You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I've been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Salah) to know how prestigious it is.

FWA Player of the Year
2019/20Jul 24, 2020
  Name TeamAge Position
1Jordan HendersonLiverpool30M (C)88
2Kevin De BruyneMan City29M, AM (C)92
3Marcus RashfordMan Utd22AM (L), F (C)85
4Virgil van DijkLiverpool29D (C)93
5Sadio ManéLiverpool28W, AM (L)89

"But as grateful as I am I don't feel like I can accept this on my own.

"I don't feel like anything I've achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.

"I owe a lot to so many different people - but none more so than my current team-mates - who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.

"We've only achieved what we've achieved because every single member of our squad has been brilliant. And not just in matches. Not just in producing the moments that make the headlines and the back pages but every day in training."

Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema, was named the FWA Women's Footballer of the Year earlier this month.

Latest news

Premier League

Bale could stay at Spurs beyond current loan

The Welshman's agent has indicated that his client could make a permanent move from Real Madrid when his contract expires

  • 50 minutes

Tactical Analysis: How Real Madrid struggled to break down Real Sociedad

Zinedine Zidane's side toiled to create goalscoring chances against the low block of the home side and it doesn't bode well

  • 1 hour
Serie A

Official: Juventus sign Alvaro Morata from Atletico

The Spanish striker returns to the Allianz Stadium after spells with Real Madrid, Chelsea, and then Diego Simeone's side

  • 2 hours
Serie A

How Pirlo masterminded his first Serie A win as Juve boss

The World Cup winner took over as Bianconeri head coach during the summer and had a perfect debut in the dugout versus Sampdoria

  • 2 hours
Serie A

Suarez accused of cheating in Italian citizenship test

The Uruguayan is required to pass the exam in order to sign for an Italian club, but interest from Juventus is waning

  • 3 hours
Serie A

Official: Inter sign Vidal from Barca for €1m

The Chilean had been deemed surplus to requirements at the Camp Nou and has been allowed to leave for a cut-price fee

  • 3 hours

Most read

Other interesting players

  1. Valencia 86
  2. image description Sergio Busquets M, DM (C)
    Barcelona 86
  3. image description Rodri M, DM (C)
    Man City 86
  4. image description Rodrigo de Paul M, AM (C)
    Udinese 86
  5. Liverpool 86
  6. image description Saul Niguez M (CL)
    Atletico Madrid 86
  7. image description Achraf Hakimi M, DM (R)
    Inter 86
  8. image description Ilkay Gündogan M, DM (C)
    Man City 85
  9. image description Marco Verratti M, DM (C)
    PSG 85